Fresh Reminders of Why we Hate the Team that was Last in MLB to Integrate

Moments ago, a woman colleague burst into my production node brandishing a ticket to an upcoming game at Klanway, er Fenway, Park.

A half hour earlier, I read the bleatings from troglodyte Red Sox hero and Brietbart contributor Curt Schilling. Of course, he thinks Adam Jones is a liar. Imagine if Rocker had been a bigger figure in Braves history, and was perhaps even more obnoxious, and you’ve got Schilling.

A couple days ago, I saw a guy at CVS wearing a Kimbrel Red Sox “Game Over” t-shirt. I wanted to strangle him with some piece of old person’s health care paraphernalia.

And so on. My colleague, far as I know, is no Boston fan, and has no clear connection to the place. She’s from Mississippi, and lived for years in Oklahoma. She is traveling to Boston on business next week. When she flourished her 8×11 paper, I visibly cringed and explained that I loathe the Red Sox and the loathsome bandwagon that has formed around them. I lamented that it’s hard to make it through a Target run without encountering some jack ass in a red sox cap or shirt.

True enough, she admitted, before telling me she plans to be behind home plate wearing her red sox cap next Friday night. The bandwagon rolls on. Resist!

Photo: Professional Asshole Curt Schilling

3 comments

  1. Thank you for that last post. You really made me laugh.

    Back in 1967 I was 11 years old and it was the first season I really started following baseball – grabbing the newspaper early and checking out the boxscores; catching every NBC Game of the Week that I could. My grandfather was a Braves fan and taught me how to find the WBS radio broadcast, so I listened to Miles Hamilton and Ernie Johnson through the static in my hot, little bedroom in Leland NC (we didn’t get air conditioning for several more years).

    At any rate, I began following the Red Sox, too. They were on NBC almost every Saturday and I loved their talented left fielder, Carl Yastrzemski. Yaz, of course, was red hot during the end of the season and won the Triple Crown. He even had a great Series – three dingers; .400 BA – but not as great as Gibson.

    So the Sox became my AL team and Aaron and the Braves became my true favorite. But I rooted for both until 1990, when I took my son to Fenway for his 13th birthday. Two days in Boston and I left vowing that I would never return on my own dime, and I’d never ever root for the Red Sox.

    I’ve been back on business many times (on someone else’s tab). I’ve even been back to Fenway (what a dump). But I’m always reminded at what a city of wicked assholes Boston is.

    I’ve been all over the world and stayed in countless large cities. None can hold a candle to Boston. Philadelphia deserves a mention, but it really not even a contender. I love New York but I still never root for the Yankees. And I’ve finally given up on the Braves until they get rid of these ‘maximize stockholder value’ owners. But Boston! The fucking worst.

    * …………………………………………* * David Burney, *AIGA Fellow * CEO, **New Kind* Executive & Leadership Coach

    919-349-5788 http://www.newkind.com

    On Fri, May 5, 2017 at 11:09 AM, Rowland’s Office wrote:

    > charlesad posted: “Moments ago, a woman colleague burst into my production > node brandishing a ticket to an upcoming game at Klanway, er Fenway, Park. > A half hour earlier, I read the bleatings from troglodyte Red Sox hero and > Brietbart contributor Curt Schilling. Of course,” >

  2. Schilling has a collection of Nazi memorabilia. I look forward to the reaction of Red Sawx Nation when that becomes common knowledge during his upcoming campaign for Liz Warren’s Senate seat. That may be a bridge too far for those people, but with Massholes, you never know.

  3. I’ve hated Schilling since he was with the Orioles but I’ve only recently come to grips with just how damned dumb he really is. His “explanation” for why he called a 12 year vet and stand up guy like Jones a liar would embarrass a six year old.

Leave a Reply

