Open Thread, 4/18-4/20, Braves vs. Big League Talent

I much enjoyed watching the celebration last night after Dansby’s game winner. This team certainly appears to enjoy playing the game, and each other.

Phillips plays with flair. It looks like he and Swanson click. Inciarte is often smiling on the field. Freddie is a good-guy superstar. How can you not like the rotund righty Colon and the thoughtful Dickey, the rare brainy ballplayer. Snitker seems cool.

To be sure, I don’t think this team is a contender. Too many questions in the rotation, and the bench is flimsy.

Still, the 2017 Braves are growing on me. They are likeable bunch and fun to watch, especially amid a five-game winning streak. The winning is subject to change, of course, especially with the stout Nats heading to Cobb Co. and Folty facing Scherzer tonight.

But the likeability I don’t think will fade.

Tonight’s Bravos lineup: Inciarte, Swanson, Freeman, Markakis, Phillips, Garcia, Suzuki, Peterson, Folty.

One comment

  1. I’ve never commented on something on stmboleupun before, and I go through this site like its my job. My dog died just this past winter and I practically balled sitting here reading this. Thank you so much for reminding me of what an amazing friend I had.

Leave a Reply

