Another #Braves favorite bids adieu

Kris Medlen, by all accounts one of the coolest guys ever to wear a Braves uniform, signed a two-year deal with the Royals today. He’ll make just $900,000 more than the Braves will pay Jim Johnson in 2015. Medlen signed a two-year deal that will pay him $5.5 mil in 2016, followed by a mutual  $10 million option with a $1 million buyout.

It’s a risk I would’ve taken. Coming back from two Tommy John surgeries ain’t easy but Joakim Soria, Chris Capuano, Shawn Kelley and Brian Wilson are among current major leaguers who’ve done it. The best example is probably Jason Isringhausen, who returned from 3 Tommy Johns.

Medlen’s young and has never relied on a blazing fastball to succeed. I’d rather take a chance on him than the likes of Johnson and Collapse-o.

In the last two years the Braves have said goodbye to a number of a likable, identifiable players: Huddy, Jay Hey and now Medlen. I’m not suggesting that should play a role in personnel decisions, but it certainly won’t help drum up any excitement for a team that’s inspiring little confidence.

Med Dog had a helluva run with the home team: 2.95 ERA and 1.155 WHIP in 512 IP.

Thanks for the memories, Med Dog.

5 comments

  1. I agree 100% on taking the risk on Medlen, and the point on losing all the likable players we’ve had in recent years. Meds was just fun to watch.
    Honestly, I’ve been disappointed in every significant move (or non-move) this offseason, with the exception of the Heyward trade–and I didn’t really LIKE it as much as I thought it was a pretty good return for a player we were likely to lose anyway in another year.
    The one free agent I really wish we would sign is David Ross, not as much for his production, but just to have some semblance of fun off the bench. I think he could really help Bethancourt develop as well.

  2. At his best he was closer to vintage Maddux than any Brave I’d seen since. I wish him well. He strikes me as the kind of guy who will thrive wherever he goes from here, MLB or not. I’m having a Braves sad right now.

  3. This offseason has really been bumming me out. Not used to seeing so many old favs wearing different uniforms so suddenly. Prado and McCann on the Yankees, Hudson on the Giants, Heyward on the @#%#@ Cardinals and now Medlen on the Royals. Upton to the Padres next followed by Gattis to… somewhere.

  4. I would never bet against Medlen. I won’t be surprised to see him make it back.

  5. Out of the recent Braves pitching prospects, Medlen was my favorite. A game of his that I witnessed in September of 2012, when he threw a complete game against the Rockies, with 12 Ks, no walks, and one unearned run is my favorite pitching performance of the last few years. On that day, he looked like Maddux but with more speed. I will absolutely be rooting for his success in KC.

Leave a Reply

