Freeman agrees to ‘huge’ extension

Boy was I wrong. Boy am I glad.

Good to feel good about the front office again. Well done, FW.

The Heyward extension, meanwhile, means little except save some hurt feelings. I fully expect Jay Hey to sign elsewhere when his contract expires, and with the Freeman news I’m even more convinced. No way they can afford both of them. Andrelton, on the other hand …

15 Comments on Freeman agrees to ‘huge’ extension

  1. Rob Wallace // February 4, 2014 at 4:06 pm //

    The issue with extending Heyward (past his arb years) is that I still don’t think we know who he is as a player. But, yes, I am very excited about the Freeman extension.

  2. It’s a good day to be a Braves fan!

    I’m very excited about the Freeman deal for both him and the team.

    I love J Hey but honestly I think the $ he’s looking for we wouldn’t be able to swing. Still a great player and we’ll end up getting the most value from him letting him walk and getting the draft pick after next year.

  3. Free hugs for everyone!!!

  4. pepefreeus // February 4, 2014 at 4:47 pm //

    photo/1

  5. roadrunner48 // February 4, 2014 at 6:28 pm //

    Geez, Atlmalcontent, I hope you’re feeling better now!

  6. I certainly feel better. Once again, as in the McCann/Francoeur situation, they’ve locked up the right guy (at least for now). If Heyward can have a full healthy season, then I hope they explore doing the same for him (hope, but who knows if it really happens).

  7. charlesad // February 4, 2014 at 8:28 pm //

    Reports all over TV are the deal is 8 years. That is even better than I hoped. When I first heard that it was about $100 million, I hoped it’d be for 7 years. Sounds like a great move by the Braves. Let’s hope Andrelton’s next. My gut tells me that if Heyward has two healthy, very good to great years, he’s gone. I suppose it’s possible that at some point J-Hey and the club could agree to tear up his new two-year deal and sign a longer extension. Seems unlikely, though.

    I’d focus on Andrelton and then Minor and Teheran. With the Braves’ financial constraints, no way I sink huge money into a closer, even one as good as Kimbrel.

  8. CD, I’m with you. It’s sad that we have to talk of prioritizing like this, but inevitable in this age. I’m very happy to know that Liberty at least has some of that prioritization reserved for talent retention, albeit not as much as it should. I would have been looking down a deep, dark hole had we really been faced with moving to Cheesecake Factory-Land with neither of our 6.5 foot sluggers on the roster.

  9. Agree with the above statement – we still don’t know who Heyward is as a player. He’s essentially a four-tool guy with a ton of potential and upside, but he’s never been able to put everything together for an entire season. Kind of freak injuries last year with the appendectomy and the jaw, so the next two seasons will be very telling.

    In the end, he’ll want more money than his numbers say he’s worth, or he will have one or two superb seasons and price himself out of what the Braves can realistically offer him.

    Andrelton should be the next priority and as much as I love Kimbrel, you simply cannot pay a closer the kind of salary he would command when you have ownership constraints like the Braves have.

  10. Jack Straw // February 5, 2014 at 11:32 am //

    By the time Heyward is ready for a new contract we should have s solid idea of the player he is, and hopefully will find the money to keep him. We know he is a Gold Glover.

    Now we have to deal with Kimbrel, which is tougher. The problem is we would have finished in 4th place without him.

  11. pepefreeus // February 5, 2014 at 11:14 pm //

    I have enough faith is JHey to think that it’s just possible that he blossoms into not just a great player, but the guy who wants to be a leading face for this franchise, like Freddie will be and like Chipper and Brain both were. He’s not a greedy knucklehead and he might just opt to stay in a place where he fits rather than going for the highest bidder.

  12. roadrunner48 // February 6, 2014 at 8:01 am //

    I’m with you Pepe.

  13. It’s just a feeling, but I think Heyward is unlikely to sign an extension and will be gone after his contract is up.

  14. According to Joel Sherman they’re trying to lock up Simmons and Teheran. This is some good news!!!

  15. It’s unrealistic to think the Braves could afford Freeman AND Jay Hey, and if it’s a matter of signing Heyward vs. signing Julio T. and Andrelton, I’ll go with the latter. Interesting that no one ever brings up J-Up, whose contract ends the same time as Heyward’s.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

