My hatred of the Red Sox grows by the minute

Future Boston mayor

First there was the Fox pre-game show, a valentine to the Red Sox. Oh, look at those beards — they’re so kooky! And original, too!

But the loathing grew exponentially when the Sox fans started chanting “ster-oid” at Peralta. The same fans who celebrated two world championships won on the PED-enhanced shoulders of Manny Ramirez and Big Fraudi Ortiz — a contradiction conveniently ignored by the Foxbot and Mr. Haney.

It bears repeating: The 2 most consequential players on those teams were arguably Ramirez and Ortiz. In ’95, ours were Maddux and Glavine. For the Yankees, it was ¬†Jeter and Rivera. And things started souring for them when they imported Roger¬†Clemens, who, of course, came up with the Sox.

This is the same team featured in a movie starring Jimmy Fallon and Drew Barrymore. I admit, “The Slugger’s Wife” sucked, but nothing can suck as much as a Jimmy Fallon, Drew Barrymore flick.

But that’s Boston: Cute and scrappy. Like Whitey Bulger.

Come on Tigers — beat the shit out of these wretched frauds and their hypocritical, bandwagon-jumping fan base!

9 Comments on My hatred of the Red Sox grows by the minute

  1. pepefreeus // October 13, 2013 at 3:15 am //

    I had a feeling all of that would rub you the proverbial wrong way.

    They actually allowed those two clowns onto he field during the celebration of their ’04 Series clincher so it could be part of that POS movie. I remember FOX cutting to a shot of them mugging for the cams and thinking “I really wish Carlton Fisk was one of the current players.” Watch the film of him rounding the bags in ’75 if you want a primer on how to treat trespassing fans.

  2. And here I thought it was just me! While others have had Yankee hate tattooed on their souls forever, I’ve always hated the Red Sox more (a lot more). Can’t say exactly why, so let’s just call it a cumulative effect of their insane fans, Kevin Millar, insane fans, sickening inferiority complex accompanied by a huge budget, and insane fans.

    I hope the Tigers drub them.

  3. I’m pulling for Detroit! Red Sox can kiss my –ss!

  4. RJR Squeeze // October 14, 2013 at 9:58 pm //

    After the June 2006 series at Turner Field, I had a new least favorite team. Place was dominated by a bunch of pussies that decided they liked baseball sometime in the early 2000s and acted like they invented the game. I left in the 7th inning, because prison was the likely alternative.

  5. roadrunner48 // October 14, 2013 at 11:13 pm //

    I think the team should be renamed something like the Whitey Bulgers, or the Racists, or the Massholes. That would fit better with the town’s nature.

  6. I don’t hate the Red Sox as much as most people here, probably the result of having had a college roommate from Maine. But I draw a sharp distinction between those who were Bosox fans before they were winning World Series (like the guys at the late-night diner in Methuen who offered to introduce me to Steve Bedrosian) and most of the jackwagons who get their mugs on teevee.

    But I’m still rooting for the Tigers.

  7. Susan Anderson // October 20, 2013 at 12:42 am //

    I’m hearing crickets…..lots of crickets…..LOL! Go BoSox!

  8. pepefreeus // October 20, 2013 at 5:07 am //

    Tokyoke speaks for me, as well. As we’ve previously discussed, I used to like the Dewey Evans era teams, going back to the Lynn-Rice days. I’m still happy they humiliated the Yankees in ’04 but that was about the end of the line. I slipped off of the edge of one damned crowded bandwagon shortly thereafter.

  9. Saw a guy at a Wendy’s in Greenville, Alabama today wearing a Red Sox cap. Typical. There’s no escaping the bandwagon that was born in 2004. (But those crazy beards!! And Ben Affleck! They all sing together at the game!) God. Seeing David Ross in that uni nearly makes me puke. Guy at Wendy’s off I-85 was probably like the dimwitted chick FROM ATLANTA who was rooting for the wagon at a game here a couple years ago. Why, CB and I asked, was she a wagon fan? “The Braves suck,” she sputtered. Got it. Susan, was that you?

    I’m not sure what you expected to “hear” from the Office. But how about this: I hate the red sox and the wagon, especially the wagon, every bit as much today as yesterday and the day before that. Go read a blog about your team and leave us alone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

