John Rocker says something stupid (cont’d)

One quick example to support my theory: I watch the World Series every year as most of you probably do. Each year I see a stat that comes across the screen during at least one of the games (generally having to do with Mariano Rivera). It lists all of the top post-season closers of all time. They usually do this to show how dominant Rivera has been during his post-season career. At any rate, the stat always reads “top post-season closers of all time (minimum 15 innings pitched).”

As one would expect there are several notable names up there, but one name that is always absent despite having thrown 21.3 scoreless playoff innings is … mine. That’s no accident, folks. That’s conspiracy. I know about it – and so does Tim Tebow.

I doubt Rocker’s story, as he’s been known to stretch the truth make shit up. (And it’s 20.2 scoreless  playoff innings, not 21.3, which would be 22.) It also should be noted that Fox carries the World Series every year, so I suspect if Rocker was left off the list it was an honest mistake.

But that wouldn’t allow Rocker to play the victim, as he’s prone to do. Remember this:

“I’ve taken a lot of crap from a lot of people. Probably more than anybody in the history of this sport. I know Hank [Aaron] and Jackie [Robinson] took a good deal of crap, but I guarantee it wasn’t for six years. I just keep thinking: How much am I supposed to take?”

And as for the 20-plus scoreless innings, someone owes Walt Weiss a thank you.

 

 

4 Comments on John Rocker says something stupid (cont’d)

  1. Thanks for posting this. I don’t follow Rocker anymore, but I tire of this type of screed. I have yet to see church doors chained shut in America so I think the notion that Christians (of which I am one and a pretty devout one at that) are somehow persecuted is ridiculous. (It’s diffrerent overseas and I wish some of the anti-Christian actions in the Mideast would get a bit more coverage, but that’s an entirely different issue.) Tebow’s problem is that he can’t hit the ocean from the shore when he’s throwing the ball. To compare him with Griffin and Kapernick is fairly ridiculous (and seeing as those two teams have a combined record of 1-5, maybe this read/option thing isn’t going to catch on the way some have contended). I hope Rocker saved his money.

  2. Robinson and Aaron endured a lot of crap simply because they were black. Rocker has endured crap because he’s an asshole, but I guess he figures that’s just as immutable a characteristic as Robinson’s and Aaron’s skin color.

    And BrandX, does Rocker impress you as somebody who was smart enough to save his money?

  3. RJR Squeeze // September 25, 2013 at 4:56 pm //

    20+ innings be damned, he still ruined game 4 of the 1999 NLCS. Took us from the brink of a sweep to the Kevin McGlinchy meltdown and then to an excruciating game 6.

  4. tokyokie, my guess is Rocker has one heckuva comic book collection.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

