Open Thread, 9/12, Braves vs. the universe

I don’t know what that headline means, other than reflecting my growing unease as October nears. I envision a classic Braves team that probably has no business making the playoffs in the first place — what with a stampede to the DL, young pitching, spotty offense, etc., etc. — but valiantly overachieves for six months only to get squashed by a better team in a short playoff series.

I hope like hell I’m wrong. And either way, now is not the time to start the anxiety. Let’s wait until the first cloudy weekday afternoon first pitch for that.  Today’s lineup: E. Johnson LF, J-Up RF, Freeman, Gattis C, C. Johnson, Simmons, Uggla, BJ CF, Garcia.

11 Comments on Open Thread, 9/12, Braves vs. the universe

  1. are we talking about the mess with CJ, Mac and the manbaby pitcher?

    I think we can win a series in the playoffs if we hit. If.

  2. rankin' rob // September 12, 2013 at 12:15 pm //

    You’re a Braves fan. You know it’s coming, just not when.

  3. Some bright spots: Gattis is swinging better, Elliot Johnson hits better than Uggla, Simmons plays every day and does everything.
    The offense has been sluggish most of the year, and we won’t blow anybody out in the playoffs, but this club has surprised me again and again. These are not the same old Braves.

  4. roadrunner48 // September 12, 2013 at 2:15 pm //

    Another bright spot is that Fredi has given up on Uggla, finally. I would be thrilled if they left him off the post season roster, but that’s hoping for too much.

  5. And way to stay klassy Uggla: “It’s his ballclub and I respect the decision that he made,” Uggla said. “Do I agree with it? Once again, I’ve reiterated this lots of times: No, actually not. I don’t think we’re a better ballclub with me on the bench. But he’s the manager and I’ve got to respect his decision.”

    Is he watching the same games we are?

  6. If Uggla really believes that, I’m glad he’s not managing the club.

  7. the real big cat // September 12, 2013 at 3:25 pm //

    Every ballplayer thinks he ought to be in the starting lineup. Uggla’s just wrong — as wrong about that as he is his pitch selection.

  8. Freddy Garcia pitched well. And he is 6-3 career post-season (I looked it up).

  9. I’d like him to make the roster, as a long man if nothing else.

  10. He’s going to have to make the roster if Beachy and Maholm can’t come back. Wood is probably about done too. I hope he doesn’t get hurt pitching way past his usual innings. (knock on wood, no pun intended)

    … and yes. I can feel the dread. But I’m also really jazzed that the Braves have the best record in the NL halfway through September!!!

  11. Nobody is expecting us to do anything much. We’re playing with house money. It’s the Dodgers who should feel the dread.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

