Nats or the Reds?

We’ve long assumed the Braves would play the Nats if they advance past the Wild Card playoff game. Maybe not. The Reds are now just 1-1/2 games behind Washington for the NL’s best record. I’m not sure who I’d rather play.

The Braves were 1-5 against the Reds this season, but all those games were played in May. Their ace, Johnny Cueto, has pitched himself out of Cy Young contention by allowing 14 ER (in 15 IP) over his last three starts. Closer Aroldis Chapman has complained of shoulder soreness and has pitched only twice in the last two weeks, allowing 3 runs and walking 3 in those appearances.

Mat Latos has pitched better in the second half, but Huddy can take him. And I’d like my chances with Minor facing Homer Bailey or Bronson Arroyo.

Cincy is a good team, don’t get me wrong, but they’re not a clear-cut favorite. Like the Nats, they can be beaten.

2 Comments on Nats or the Reds?

  1. The Reds, for the all the reasons you stated. Plus, beyond Votto, Cincy’s lineup is not special. I don’t have stats on hand, but I’d bet they’re offense puts up only average numbers outside Great American.

  2. I think after this weekend series the Bravos proved they could hang with either team. I don’t see how Strasbourg can sit out the last 2 – 3 weeks and be ready for a playoff run; Gio Gonzalez was handled fairly well by the batters as well. As far as Cincy is concerned, I’m sure the Braves would love to exact some revenge for that 4-game sweep earlier this year.

    Of course my opinion on this could change dramatically if the team looks bad tomorrow night…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

