R.I.P. Dan Roundfield

Dan Roundfield, arguably the best pure power forward in Atlanta Hawks history, drowned Monday off the coast of Aruba. He made three All-Star teams as a Hawk and was a regular on the NBA’s All-Defensive squad. Roundfield averaged 10 rebounds or better in each of his seasons in Atlanta and was a decent scorer, as well, averaging better than 17 points a game.

5 Comments on R.I.P. Dan Roundfield

  1. aww dang, that’s terrible. Dan was one of few players I knew by name when I first started paying attention to the Hawks when I was a kid. Back then I liked them for the Pac-Man logo as much as anything. RIP Dan.

  2. PepeFreeUs // August 7, 2012 at 4:19 pm //

    Fuck. That is depressing. I grew to hate the Hawks as the ’80′s wore on but I always loved Danny Round. A quiet, underrated ballplayer. Kind of an NBA Chris Chambliss.

  3. a dude from duluth // August 7, 2012 at 4:32 pm //

    One of my favorite Hawks growing up. I used to wear double wrist bands when I shot baskets in the driveway to try to be like Danny. Rest in peace, Rounds.

  4. Pepe, the Chambliss/Roundfield comparison is dead-on.

  5. Very sad news. Rounds was my favorite Hawk from the Hubie Brown years.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

