The DH is coming to the NL

From the Dept. of Unfortunate Predictions:

With next year’s realignment there will be an interleague game every day of the season. Couple that with the advantage AL teams have when doling out big contracts (Pujols, Fielder, et al) and you have two more reasons why the DH should be abolished.

But the players union will never let it happen. And, considering Bud always seems to do the wrong thing, you can expect, “in the best interests of baseball,” to see the DH adopted by the Senior Circuit within the next five to 10 years.

17 Comments on The DH is coming to the NL

  1. I’ll take that bet

  2. I don’t bet for things I hope don’t occur.

  3. Bah. Have we had any good news this offseason? And have we ever had an offseason in which we haven’t added a single major-league player to the roster who wasn’t there at season’s end?

  4. Viva Rufino Linares! // February 1, 2012 at 5:19 pm //

    It has been a dreary offseason.

    I would hate to see the DH come to the NL, but with all the “plans” Bud has I’m in agreement that it is inevitable. After that, probably no NL and AL.

  5. Bud wanted to do all that crap back in ’98, but I guess he decided nobody would notice how much he was ruining MLB if he did it gradually.

  6. PepeFreeUs // February 1, 2012 at 6:45 pm //

    Good. I would love to have the dexterity to bat McCann or Chipper once or twice a week without having them subject to the rigors of field play.

    I know Chipper hates it (he just stepped in a damn hole for the second straight offseason so his intellectual credibility isn’t at high tide with me right now) and I know all the arguments but I’m not persuaded. The double switch ain’t that fascinating and having a DH doesn’t automatically preclude you from having a speed game.

    I say this as someone (like you guys) who was able to watch a staff for a decade that could all handle the bat and I STILL would have preferred to have whoever our fourth outfielder was batting at any given time instead of any of the Big 3.

  7. One factor I didn’t consider: It would be one less thing for Fredi to mess up.

  8. Jack Straw // February 1, 2012 at 8:45 pm //

    I am not sure why the union is so strongly in favor. The number of union members is unaffected. They assume that the DH represents a higher salary than the player who otherwise would occupy that roster spot, but I see no reason why that should be.
    The DH is and always has been a joke. Most are .275 hitters who ground into a lot of double plays.
    The DH also slows the game down.
    This is a death wish. I probably won’t watch nearly as much baseball. DH baseball is inferior. The entire concept has never made sense to me.

  9. The union also views the DH as job security for aging players who can still hit. I think that’s really why they are in favor. Not that I agree either.

  10. WillieMontanez // February 2, 2012 at 6:19 pm //

    I am concerned that our DH would be Brandon Hicks.

  11. It doesn’t seem like the Braves brass even cares this offseason. Malaise Forever!

  12. Pat, have you relocated to Arkansas?

  13. PepeFreeUs // February 3, 2012 at 5:58 pm //

    Liberty is Charles Foster Kane and the Braves are one of their forgotten sculptures, boxed up and packed away in a dusty warehouse.

  14. Pepe, I don’t know about that. The Braves could be the sled.

  15. And now for something complete different… I just saw where Rick Behenna died this week. 51 years old.

  16. PepeFreeUs // February 4, 2012 at 12:15 am //

    It always feels so wrong when a former ballpalayer, at least one who isn’t 90 or so, dies. I took a real jolt when Jim Bibby, (who I saw pitch one of the most dominant games that no one seems to remember against the Braves and who I saw in person good naturedly taking a tribute/razzing from Salem Bucs fans when he was the pitching coach for the Lynchburg Red Sox), died a couple of years ago.

    We’re the sled if Ted is Kane. His last words on his deathbed will be “The big league team with little league attitude!”

  17. Ha! – no, but my iphone spells like an Ozark hayseed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

