Braves offer JJ and Prado for Myers and Cain; Dayton says no

An interesting deal that would’ve given the Braves two solid prospects and saved $10 million. But the Royals won’t give up Myers, according to the Kansas City Star’s Bob Dutton. Talks between FW and Dayton have stalled, he reports.

More on this later.

9 Comments on Braves offer JJ and Prado for Myers and Cain; Dayton says no

  1. roadrunner // November 5, 2011 at 1:02 pm //

    I’m not as much a fan of McCann as are most people, but I don’t see why we need another catching prospect.

  2. Myers has been converted to the OF, so he would be pegged for LF in 2013, with Cain moving to CF if they don’t sign Bourn. Cain is 25 and still in Triple-A, which gives me pause.

  3. In Ken Rosenthals piece he said that sources said that the Braves did not, nor would they go for a straight up trade of JJ & Prado for Myers and Cain. They may be good prospects but two above average ML for two high prospects sounds uneven. I am wary of trading either one to be honest, but if I had to pick i would say trade JJ, keep Prado. JJ seems injury prone and we have a plethora of pitching. But without Prado, we have no back up to Chipper and no one to man 3rd in the future. Prado dealt with a freak staph infection and a move to LF. I give him a complete pass for last year….come to think of it, if we trade Prado, unless the return is too good to be true, I will be upset.

    Rosenthal also says league sources have said that the Braves payroll will increase next year…we can only hope.

  4. roadrunner // November 6, 2011 at 7:39 pm //

    I share your concern. I don’t think Cain’s stats last year mean that much. He’s certainly a major league player, but whether he’s a legitimate starter is another question. Myers seems like a hell of a prospect.

    I don’t like the trade. Prado may have peaked, but this team needs his versatility. And Hanson is going to wash out soon. We’ll miss JJ when he goes.

  5. Viva Rufino Linares! // November 7, 2011 at 8:55 am //

    There was a note in SI this week about 5 trades that should happen. One was Teheran and Minor for Andre Either. Not sure I’d pull the trigger on that one. I HATE seeing young pitching go. I know they have an abundance, but it still worries me.

  6. Teheran AND Minor for Ethier? I wouldn’t do Teheran for Ethier straight-up.

  7. Viva Rufino Linares! // November 7, 2011 at 12:57 pm //

    Yeah, that’s what I said.

  8. roadrunner // November 7, 2011 at 6:08 pm //

    Should happen if you’re a Dodgers fan. What are the other trades they want? Melky Cabrera for Jesus?

  9. PepeFreeUs // November 8, 2011 at 1:34 am //

    I’m not even sure I’d do Minor for Ethier straight up, really.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

