Bring back Mad Dog

Maddux‘s deal expires in December. He received a message from Cubs Chairman Tom Ricketts last weekend, but said they have been playing phone tag so far. Maddux is not sure if there’s a job for him under the next GM, or if he wants to return anyway.

“I don’t know, and I would feel the same way if Jim [Hendry] was still there now,” he said. I’m just trying to get my feet wet and figure out what I want to do in my post-baseball career.”

If it was up to me Mad Dog would be the Braves’ next manager. Seriously. No one’s got more baseball smarts than Maddux and he has a skipper’s disposition.

Make him a special assistant to the GM this year and groom him as Fredi’s replacement in 2013.

9 Comments on Bring back Mad Dog

  1. Sounds good to me, but unless Fredi undergoes a brain transplant this week, he won’t make it through 2012. Wren put him on notice the other day by firing the crappy hitting instructor Fredi said would return. The first sign of trouble next season, Wren will ditch him.

  2. roadrunner // October 1, 2011 at 6:00 pm //

    I love the idea.

  3. PepeFreeUs // October 1, 2011 at 10:15 pm //

    I would be thrilled.

  4. He should be part of the organization in one way or another.

  5. I hate to be the devil’s advocate on this one, cuz Maddux is my favourite player and I’d love to see him back with the Braves in any capacity, but what is the precedent for a player to slide directly into the manager’s position without any coaching or managerial experience (major or minor league)? Especially a pitcher.

  6. It would be unprecedented, but Maddux is a rare breed. I think he has all the qualities to be a good manager, namely unequaled baseball smarts. I read once that Andy MacPhail agrees that Mad Dog would be an excellent skipper.

  7. rankin' rob // October 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm //

    My guess is that Maddux would bring in a seasoned coaching staff that would fill in his managerial gaps. But it makes far to much sense for the Braves to actually do it.

  8. roadrunner // October 2, 2011 at 5:17 pm //

    Former players used to go straight to managing at the big league level fairly often. Walter Johnson did it and was a pretty good manager. By the ’50’s, it wasn’t a normal thing. The last one I can think of was Ted Williams, who took over the Senators in ’68 or ’69. I agree that Maddux could pull it off. He’s not only very bright and knows the game better than almost anyone, but he also would be good at keeping a team on an even keel and he would certainly treat people well.

  9. Wonder if David Justice might be interested in being a hitting instructor?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

