Open thread, 8/22, Braves vs. Donald Rumsfelds

The playoffs are all but a done deal. Advancing past the first round will require:

1. JJ returning to form.

2. A clean bill of health for Tommy.

I’m confident JJ finds his groove again, and it starts tonight against the Little Bears. All we can do is cross our fingers when it comes to young Mr. Hanson. And it would help if Jay Hey rebounds. Fredi said he plans to give him considerable playing time in Wrigley. If he doesn’t show any signs of turning things around, a stint in Gwinnett should follow.

7 Comments on Open thread, 8/22, Braves vs. Donald Rumsfelds

  1. Jack Straw // August 22, 2011 at 2:58 pm //

    I think it’s gonna be a slug-fest tonight, with the Braves coming out on top. I am terribly concerned about JJ.

  2. He’s got to have his location. It should be apparent early if he does.

    Priorities for the remaining 34 games: get JJ and Hanson back on track; get O’Flaherty, Venters and Kimbrel enough rest; get Vizcaino accustomed to relief work; get Moylan back. If we have a bullpen that goes five deep with great-to-good pitchers, that can come close to compensating for a less than stellar rotation. Which is what we’ll have if JJ and Hanson don’t rebound. I’m not including anything about J-Hey. If he gets it together, great, but I don’t expect it this season. (Next season, yes.) And the Braves can win in the postseason without him.

  3. Jack Straw // August 22, 2011 at 5:27 pm //

    I may be wrong, but I think Venters’ strikeout numbers are declining. Anything to worry about?

  4. I think Beachy is a future star. He needs to build endurance but for 5-6 innings, he’s as good as almost anyone in the league. Nearly 10 Ks per 9 IP. I think JJ will bounce back and I think Hanson will as well. Both of them are filthy when they keep it down.

  5. PepeFreeUs // August 22, 2011 at 11:33 pm //

    Appropriate that Tommy was there. JJ turned in another Glavinesque performance.

    I love beating them in that dump and shutting up those shallow, beer sodden yuppies.

    Love that Nettles mini anecdote.

  6. Jack, JV had two Ks last night. I wouldn’t worry about his K numbers. He gets plenty of groundballs, too. That was a great anecdote from Tommy G. re Nettles picking up pitches. Tommy is getting better in the booth. And I have to admit, I’m even disliking Chip less these days. Maybe I’m getting soft in my dotage.

  7. I am really enjoying Tommy G in the booth these days. Seems to take some of the pressure off Chip & Joe to be entertaining and makes for a better broadcast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

