I feel the hate through my monitor

Not that it’s a particularly clever stunt or anything, but I’m glad to hear it anyway. Just read on the local organ scribe’s blog that the staff at Disney park started to play Sweet Caroline between innings. (The Braves are playing the trendiest team in the history of sports today. I saw two Boston hats in the MARTA station just this morning. Those cases are more about “fashion” than fandom, I suspect, but still, it’s part of the same ugly phenomenon.) Anyway, after five seconds, the sound guy at the park turned off the cheesy Neil Diamond and played Thank God I’m a Country Boy.

That’s not a great song or anything, but I’m all for anything that tweaks red sox fans. Glad to see someone with the Braves organization show a little cheek, not literally of course.

Elsewhere, is Wilkin Ramirez going to make this team? What about Schafer? I think Mather will. My projected roster:

Pitchers: Lowe, Huddy, Hanson, JJ, Minor, Kimbrel, Venters, Moylan, Linebrink, O’Flaherty, Sherrill, Proctor

Hitters: McCann, Ross, Freeman, Hinske, Uggla, Gonzalez, Chipper, Prado, McLouth, Heyward, Mather, Hernandez, Ramirez.

Schafer starts the season in Buford. However, if Mather can’t play center field, he might be in Atlanta.

5 Comments on I feel the hate through my monitor

  1. PepeFreeUs // March 16, 2011 at 4:46 pm //

    I would like to introduce a radio controlled device that immediately shuts off the windpipe of anone doing that “Yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu…” thing when that homunculus Youkilis does anything good.

  2. Fear The Turtle // March 16, 2011 at 4:50 pm //

    No Conrad? I agree but we will see how Fredi feels Bobby would have taken Brooks for sure. I think I would take Lucas instead of Hernandez.

  3. roadrunner // March 16, 2011 at 6:39 pm //

    You guys don’t have to live in Boston. I do. Shoot me.

  4. Yeah, you got to love the “Let’s Go Red Sox” chants every freaking inning. I can’t decide whether I hate Yankees fans or Red Sox fans more. At least with the majority of Yankees fans I meet, they have some connection to NY and know about the team’s history in the 80′s. Ask a Red Sox fan where he’s from, and to name a player on any team before 2004, you’ll get a blank stare.

  5. charlesad // March 17, 2011 at 8:24 am //

    For me, Red Sox fans surpassed Yankee fans on the hate list four or five years ago.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

