Scott Hairston? Why not Andruw

Scott's pop

This is what we’re reduced to, weighing the pros and cons of signing an oft-injured and well-traveled fourth outfielder. I never thought about Scott Hairston as a CF option because 1.) He’s not very good and 2.) I thought he was only a corner OF.

Turns out he’s decent enough in CF, faring better than Ankiel and McLouth in those defensive metrics I still don’t quite understand (or want to).

Hairston’s only real value is as a right-handed hitter versus southpaws. He’s a career .278 hitter against lefties, with a .498 slugging percentage despite playing most of his career in Oakland and San Diego’s pitcher-friendly ballparks.

All that said, I’d rather have someone who can run. Or Andruw, who had an .OPS more than 200 points higher than McOut’s in 2010. And he’s still only 34 years old.

15 Comments on Scott Hairston? Why not Andruw

  1. To kinda sorta quote Rick Pitino: Andruw Jones aint’ walkin true dat doewah!

  2. rankin' rob // December 29, 2010 at 9:49 am //

    This is the baseball equivalent of the Island of Unwanted Toys. We’re pinning our season on McLout “regaining his form” of three years ago.

  3. so hairston is a matty d. who can play center but doesn’t hit quite as well. can andruw still play center?

  4. If Chipper would walk away we could afford a real outfielder. He can’t hit, he can’t run. This is the problem with guaranteed contracts and corporate ownership.
    Maybe Chipper’s contract could be re-structured so that we can not invite him to spring training.

  5. Start with a Druw McLoser platoon and after McLoser doesn’t pan out let Druw have the position full time.

  6. PepeFreeUs // December 29, 2010 at 2:54 pm //

    The idea that NFL style “fuck you” contracts would solve this dilemma is a nonstarter. Chipper has redone his contract in the past, deferring money so that the Braves could make improvements. Ownership usually says “Thanks”, pockets the extra scratch and does zilch.

    Having an ownership that doesn’t pack the team away deep in a warehouse like one of Charles Foster Kane’s unremembered canvases would be a nice start.

  7. I like Willie Bloomquist, I think he’d make a nice bench player for the Braves. He can fill in at any OF post and has played all IF positions. Not a terrible hitter, would probably be available cheaply, would be a nice addition.

  8. Chipper has never given the Braves a ransom note and deserves credit for it. Maddux also took less money to play here, as did Andruw. In fact, does anyone remember another player repped by Boras who circumvented his agent to sign a team-friendly contract, the way Andruw did in (’01, ’02?)

  9. jjschiller // December 29, 2010 at 5:39 pm //

    I’m with you on most of this. I just wanted to point out that saying you don’t WANT to understand defensive metrics is very Joe Morgan of you. It’s enough to not know them, or to not believe them. But why would you revel in willful ignorance of how they work?

    “Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I’m just a caveman. I fell in some ice, and later, got thawed out, by some of your scientists. Your world frightens, and confuses me. Sometimes, the honking horns of your traffic, make me want to, get out of my BMW, and run off, in to the hills, or, whatever. Sometimes, when I get a message on my fax machine, I wonder, did little demons get inside, and type it? I don’t know! My primitive mind can’t grasp these concepts. But there is one thing I do know. When a man, like my client, slips and falls on a sidewalk in front of a public library, then he is entitled to no less than two million dollars in compensatory damages. And two million dollars in punitive damages. Thank you.”

  10. Carpool Tunnel Syndrome // December 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm //

    Since when is ignorance about defensive metrics something to gloat about?

  11. I’d rather talk and watch baseball than crunch numbers. We’ve never been a sabermetric blog and never will be.

    BTW, true Braves fans owe Joe Morgan a little more respect, considering he hit the home run on the last game of the ’82 season against the Dodgers that clinched the NL West for the local nine.

    Whether it was intended, you just let your geekdom cross over into obnoxiousness. Please avoid any further bitchy condescension.

  12. PepeFreeUs // December 30, 2010 at 5:43 am //

    I loved Phil Hartman but I always hated that sketch.

  13. Carpool Tunnel Syndrome // December 30, 2010 at 12:16 pm //

    “I’d rather talk and watch baseball than crunch numbers.”

    I fail to see why there has to be a choice between the two.

    At any rate I’ve got no problem with your choice to ignore sabermetrics. I certainly prefer the scouting approach to talent evaluation.

  14. PepeFreeUs // December 30, 2010 at 5:34 pm //

    Sabermetrics provides new tools to help understand the game. Some are great, some not so great, but it’s when they stop becoming tools and instead congeal into a full on weltanschuung that I ask the waiter for my check.

  15. PepeFreeUs // December 30, 2010 at 5:35 pm //

    I lost an “a” in there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

