Beast from the East

Did anyone think they’d see a postseason no-hitter? Hate to say it, but that was a treat to watch.

The Phillies look invincible.

11 Comments on Beast from the East

  1. He is incredible. Let me be the first to thank Manuel for not letting him throw a couple of the middle innings on Sunday. The Reds are dangerous and they are very familiar with Oswalt. I don’t believe for a minute this series is over, but the Phillies are seriously fucking good.

    By the way, nice to watch the game and hear Joe Simpson calling it. I love Joe.

  2. The Reds are dead.

  3. My dad remembers Larsen’s game in 1956, he was 7. He called me after Roy dispensed the Reds and said, “can’t stand the Phillies, but that was a pleasure to watch.”

    I feel the same. Now, if the Reds could show up and win 3 games, great.

  4. rankin' rob // October 6, 2010 at 9:01 pm //

    That hasn’t happened in my lifetime. Amazing clutch performance. Reds are dead, agreed. Could it be the team most familiar with the Phils is the only one that can stop them?

  5. Jack Straw // October 6, 2010 at 9:59 pm //

    Adding Halladay and then Oswalt were the 2 best personnel moves by any front office over the past year. Today was special. Some no-hitters are flukes, but not this one. Halladay is a pleasure to watch, even better than I thought now that I have seen him several times in our league.

  6. PepeFreeUs // October 6, 2010 at 11:30 pm //

    I know a guy from another (non-sports related) board who is a Jays lifer (from ’77 onward) and he’s been going through a lot of the same stuff I did when Tommy went to the Mets.

    In any case, he’s happy for Roy and like I just told him, the way he threw the ball tonight (everything moving so it couldn’t be hit squarely but not moving too much, so you can’t just go up and take) made him literally impossible to hit.

  7. Phillies look tough but Cincy’s got to tip their hat to Halladay and try again Friday. But I will be honest I said it (to myself and to my friends not here)3 weeks ago if the Phillies dont win it all I will be surprised. Its not always the best team that wins it (see 1996, 1997) its the hottest team with the best pitching….and they are the best team and the hottest team and with the best pitching. Saying that, Halladay’s game today was special and a pleasure but lets go Cincy! (and thirty years ago self hates saying anything positive about Cincy)

  8. Viva Rufino Linares! // October 7, 2010 at 6:23 am //

    That will take the wind out of your sails. Halladay is fantastic. Basically, he’s thrown 2 no hitters this year. Unbelieveable. That performance, even though it’s post season and I believe should not be considered, just won him the NL CY Young.

  9. teamlittleguy // October 7, 2010 at 7:14 am //

    Wow. The Reds, already one of the cicada franchises in baseball, get no hit in their first postseason game in years. Kudos to Halladay.

  10. I give the Reds a 50/50 shot of winning one game. It just goes to prove yet again, good pitching beats good hitting.

  11. Sharon Egan // October 7, 2010 at 8:45 am //

    Halladay’s stuff was vintage nasty, and the Reds didn’t help his cause by failing to take any decent aggressive swings, at least in the 2 1/3 innings I watched at the end. There were some serious deer-in-the-headlights faces coming to the plate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

