Say hey, it’s Jay Hey

Those who were at The Ted today will tell their grandchildren they saw Jay Hey‘s first home run. I wasn’t at Game 6 of the ’95 World Series, but I haven’t heard a crowd this turned on since ’92. There were Cubs fans in attendance, but you wouldn’t know it. They were silenced after Jay Hey’s 442-foot dinger. Meanwhile, Braves fans never let up.

Jay Hey was electric, but don’t overlook Yesco’s five ribbies, Nate’s two (okay, 1 and 1/2) fantastic grabs and Wagner’s splendid ninth (hitting 97 MPH on the radar gun twice).

This could be the year.

17 Comments on Say hey, it’s Jay Hey

  1. Viva Rufino Linares! // April 5, 2010 at 8:06 pm //

    Beautiful game. Great start. For once The Ted was rocking.

  2. Jack Straw // April 5, 2010 at 9:24 pm //

    Wish I could have been there. You guys saw history written on green grass under a blue sky.

  3. williemontanez // April 5, 2010 at 10:08 pm //

    What a day!

    Sitting in front of us today was a couple wearing matching size XXXXL personalized Cub jerseys. The woman had a piece of cardboard on which she had scribbled “Wrigley Field South” on it. Needless to say, after the first inning, we did not see much of the sign.

  4. I was at Francoeur’s first game/HR and thought that was the coolest thing ever. But this blew that out of the water.

    Don’t overlook the incredibly well done pregame videos/on field ceremonies.

  5. Tokyokie // April 5, 2010 at 10:12 pm //

    I read on some Little Bears’ blog where they blamed everything on the bad call on the McLouth catch that led to the double play. What a bunch of pathetic whiners. OK, the ump blew the call. But don’t let up 16 fucking runs if you want a chance to win, assholes.

  6. Scotty Money // April 5, 2010 at 11:15 pm //

    I was there and it was electric! The Jay-Hey Kid is for real.

  7. Lock him up! $15m a year! It’ll be a bargain!

  8. Hell, we gave that to Mike Hampton!

  9. The Rockies gave that to him, and they (by proxy) gave us plenty of money to make up for that.

    But on Heyward- I’m thinking the Evan Longoria contract plan is in order.

  10. PepeFreeUs // April 6, 2010 at 1:17 am //

    Far and away the most enjoyable thing about today (and I can only imgine that it was amplified tenfold in the park itself) was the fact that there were so many actual Braves fans there. The arms that shot up when he made contact, the later chant of his name…all just amazing and absent for too long.

    Maybe this time around people there will really start to appreciate this team again.

  11. charlesad // April 6, 2010 at 7:42 am //

    I live two and half miles east of Turner Field. When I got home last night, I saw something white and round half hidden in the grass in the front yard. I thought maybe someone had left an Easter egg. Ha. It was a baseball with that distinctive half-moon mark left by the business end of J-Hey’s bat.

    Seriously, I’ve never heard that kind of electricity at Turner Field. And it started before the home run. I really think J-Hey’s shot rattled Zambrano. He was already on the ropes, but that toppled him. Wrigley Field south my ass.

  12. Tokyokie // April 6, 2010 at 7:44 am //

    Well, the Little Bears pretty much suck in Wrigley, so it would figure that they’d suck in “Wrigley South,” too.

  13. A special thanks to ATLMalcontent for making sure I was jealous all night long for not being able to go. ;-)

    But, even though I am in NC this week I was able to follow along, thanks to the gamecast feature on ESPN’s website. I had to keep myself from jumping up and down at the office when I saw the little baseball icon going out of the virtual stadium when Jey Hey hit that homer.

    And then the absolute beatdown on the Cubs, chasing Zambrano in the 2nd inning and just announcing their presence this year with authority! Can’t wait to get to the game next weekend against the Rockies – should be a good series.

  14. atlpaddy // April 6, 2010 at 8:45 am //

    My jealousy at not being there is greatly outweighed by my elation in watching it and the outcome. Great day yesterday, now let’s go get them tomorrow.

  15. Can anyone who was there for both compare the scene for this blast with McGriff’s dinger on the night of the fire? I was watching on TV yesterday and I caught myself jumping up and down and yelling then looking around to see if anyone had witnessed my ridiculous behavior. I don’t know if I’ve been that excited since Frankie Cabrera’s 9th inning single that beat the Pirates that caused me to run a lap around my entire college apartment building during which I kicked a sapling with my little toe rendering myself lame for weeks.

  16. PepeFreeUs // April 6, 2010 at 4:34 pm //

    Freddie’s performance in ’93 was the thing that stuck in my mind as the best analogy when I thought it over last night.

  17. clete boyer fan // April 6, 2010 at 10:55 pm //

    Glad I got to be there yesterday. There’s nothing like a bunch of sad eyed, morose, dead silent Cub fans to brighten a day at the home ballpark. Of course I missed Heyward’s home run because I was in a traffic jam on the shuttle bus. But I did give an excellent play by play of it to my fellow passengers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

