Keeping it real(istic)

My boss has taken to mocking my optimism about the upcoming season, but I’m not wavering. However, no one’s going to confuse me with Pollyanna — especially when it comes to the ballpark experience.

I’d like to see a Braves icon throw out the first pitch tomorrow, but I’m not expecting it. I’d like the organization to realize not everyone at Turner Field is a fan of Rascal Flatts, but I’m expecting to hear more of that abominable modern country between innings. Stop playing to the tractor pull crowd — baseball fans are a much more diverse lot.

It’s one sport that doesn’t require distractions. Nonetheless, I’m expecting more at the Ted, not less. And I’d bet my life savings (granted, not a sizable wager) that we’ll be forced to endure more of that godforsaken John Denver song during the 7th inning stretch.

The good news: the on-field product should overwhelm the off-field clutter. Bobby will get his 2,500 wins (plus 4) and the Bravos will return to the playoffs.

(Remember when this song, as interpreted by the Doodletown Pipers, was the centerpiece of the Braves’ marketing campaign sometime in the mid-to-late 1980s? Sorta like Michael McDonald covering Motown.)

11 Comments on Keeping it real(istic)

  1. Wren will we build a winner // April 4, 2010 at 10:51 pm //

    People have tried to sway my optimisim too. But, it wll not falter. It’s almost a right of spring to have blinding optimisim this time of year. Though I truly believe in this team this year. The pitching is there and I believe we are going to hit just enough. Hope its not my Braves color blindness coming out but this team shold be good. And please, anyday there is less Rascal Flatts in my life is a good day!(and I live in nashvile)

  2. Tofu Dan // April 4, 2010 at 11:11 pm //

    Damn the torpedoes! My team is on the floor! Give me liberty or give me death! You complete me!

    Play ball!

  3. PepeFreeUs // April 4, 2010 at 11:43 pm //

    I spent most of the ’80’s dealing with chickenshit cocksuckers who were trying to harsh my Braves mellow.

    I’ve spent most of the last two decades dealing with lazy, weak minded assholes who don’t understand the first thing about the game nevertheless bending my ear about the team’s “shortcomings.”

    They all suck and I have no interest in listening to any of them about anything, ever. Henrik Ibsen wrote “To live is to war with trolls.” It was true then and it’s true now.

  4. Scotty Money // April 4, 2010 at 11:47 pm //

    they’re going to win it all and send Bobby out in style …I can feel it! see y’all at the park!

  5. While it’s true that there are some questions to be answered this year, they pale in comparison to the questions about the Braves coming in to the last several seasons. So why not be optimistic?

    Frank Wren gets a lot of credit with me for sticking to his plan. He hasn’t been perfect, and his execution hasn’t always been smooth. But if you think back over the changes he’s made the past couple of years, it’s pretty clear he’s done a great job of managing the roster during the transition to the Hanson-Heyward era.

    Let’s Play Ball!

  6. Jack Straw // April 5, 2010 at 6:16 am //

    Dee-Fense! We will score just enough, but can’t afford to give away runs. If we play well defensively, the pitching will get us to the playoffs.

  7. Good point, Jack. The Braves should be strong up the middle, weak on the infield corners and mediocre in left and catcher.

  8. charlesad // April 5, 2010 at 8:22 am //

    Outfield defense should be much improved. You can’t do much better than Cabrera, McLouth and J-Hey. You drop off with Matty D., but he’s no Skates. Come to think of it, Melky and Matty cover twice the ground Garrett “I’ll pick it up when it stops rolling” Anderson covered last season. Chipper’s D will be pivotal. Glaus will be fine at first, and I think Yesco will be stellar. He pretty much eliminated the careless errors in the second half last year. McCann is average, and that’s that. Prado is good.

  9. Dude, what’s wrong a little John Denver at the ballpark? At least we aren’t copying the damn Red Sox and bringing out Neil Diamond for a live version of Sweet Caroline. Although if someone at The Ted could resurrect John Denver even for one game, I’d feel better about our chances in October.

  10. atlpaddy // April 5, 2010 at 1:59 pm //

    If’ there’s gonna be a country theme song at the Ted, it needs to be Jerry Reed’s ‘Eastbound and Down.’ Period.

    Also, I agree with CD – how soon we forget Garrett Anderson’s slow-mo defense from last year. Was that guy always stoned? Also, after watching Glaus over the weekend, I feel a lot better about his glovework at first.

    Happy Opening Day (and f*ck the cubs)!

  11. Rob, don’t give them any ideas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

