A pro sports town

Fuck college sports. Boring (save for the NCAA tourney).

Bank on it — the Hawks, Braves and Falcons will all make the playoffs this year. And if you haven’t watched the Hawks lately, you’re missing out. Tonight’s win over Orlando (yech!) was inspired.

15 Comments on A pro sports town

  1. Aw, come on now. In September there’ll be 18,000 people in at Turner Field (even if we’re leading the division) to watch us battle the Phils. Meanwhile 92,000 people will show up to watch Georgia play Louisiana Lafayette. Oh, and 60,000 of the folks at Sanford Stadium will be from within the city limits of this so-called “pro sports town”.

    I’m just sayin’…

  2. You’re right. I was being a tad ironic. Wish it weren’t so, though.

  3. I prefer college sports. I love the Braves, but college football is religion.

    I don’t like my sports to be dominated by rich white men. I prefer at least the appearance that games are being played for reasons other than money.

    Adams, as bad as he is, won’t sell UGA to Google. The Hawks may as well be up on ebay every year (and I’m sure the same could be said about every other pro team, everywhere, in every sport).

  4. PepeFreeUs // March 25, 2010 at 2:35 am //

    The main reason I can’t ever get really excited about college football: the referees aren’t good enough to be in even the NFL.

  5. The very fact that college football is religion is what turns me off to it. I’ll cheer for my alma mater, but I had enough of the drama and bullshit associated with it when I was in school, and in the marching band, and got an up-close and personal look at the kind of people that make up a good portion of the fan base (not all, but enough to make it annoying). And btw- in the SEC, at least, fans from different schools really aren’t any different. I went to enough road games and saw them up close and personal. I don’t buy it when people bash the fans of the schools they don’t like–not all of their fans are like that, and your school has fans like that too. I will watch the games, but I will not generally watch any pregame, postgame, or any other shows about college football or listen to sports radio, because those are just soap operas to me.
    Baseball, on the other hand, I’ve always gotten into the analytical aspects…don’t know why exactly…but it’s just compelling

  6. Baseball is my religion…

  7. Jack Straw // March 25, 2010 at 7:37 am //

    I only follow football and basketball, pro or college, because baseball inculcated a habit of studying the sports page every morning. When the baseball season is over, my mind refuses to accept that the sports page is, for the succeeding five (5) months, irrelevant.

  8. rankin' rob // March 25, 2010 at 8:14 am //

    I ran off with NASCAR years ago.

  9. Tbone, I concur.

  10. charlesad // March 25, 2010 at 8:54 am //

    MLB and college football are far and away my faves. I don’t get this notion that to love one sport means hating another. Makes no sense.

  11. I hate cricket but love Australian rules football. I’m confused.

  12. Ha! Maybe this is what McClouth needs to get going; and off Charlie Morton nonetheless…

    http://blogs.ajc.com/atlanta-braves-blog/2010/03/25/slumping-mclouth-homers-against-his-former-team/

  13. Six shutout innings from Kenshin, the game’s best #5 starter.

  14. PepeFreeUs // March 25, 2010 at 5:12 pm //

    Soul Brother #1 is poised for a breakout year.

  15. clete boyer fan // March 26, 2010 at 11:34 am //

    I’m much more inclined to enjoy college football than the NFL. The varieties of offense in the college game, plus the atmosphere of the events keeps me interested in watching games from different conferences and levels. I’ll watch games from the SEC to the Mountain West to Division 1-AA (go Georgia Southern!). For the NFL, I’m interested in the Falcons and that’s about it until the playoffs starts looming. The corporate mindset of the NFL has increasingly turned me off through the years.

    Love the NCAA tournament. That first weekend is four of the best days in sports every year.

    For me, baseball is still the king and always has been.

    Paddy, if they ever started an Australian Rules Football league stateside and had an Atlanta franchise, I’m buying season tickets.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

