The all-BMF team

Dave Parker would be on it. So would J.R. Richard and Gorman Thomas. Mariano Rivera would have to be the closer — not Rafael Soriano.

A BMF is open to some interpretation, but both their performance and presence should intimidate. Nominate away.

–CB

25 Comments on The all-BMF team

  1. Viva Rufino Linares! // January 27, 2010 at 2:28 pm //

    I went to a game in Montreal as a youth. Expos/Cubs in 1981. I went down on my own to the rail to see the players. Cliff Johnson looked me dead in the face and he scared the Holy Hell out of me. He just looked at me. Nothing more.

  2. Picking a rotation would be pretty tough, but I think you have to start with Ryan and Unit

  3. Cliff Johnson and Ryan, yes. Johnson was an intimidating pitcher but he’s so gangly that I’m not sure he intimidates physically.

  4. Lee Smith. Hrabosky?

  5. I’d take Gossage over Hraboksy.

  6. Viva Rufino Linares! // January 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm //

    Maybe Ted Kluszewski. Definately, Bob Gibson and Frank Robinson

  7. Gibson of course. Same with Robinson.

  8. clete boyer fan // January 27, 2010 at 5:38 pm //

    Frank Robinson and Bob Gibson natch.

    Don Drysdale: a 6’6″ sidearming righthander who didn’t mind putting his fastball around your head.

    Jackie Robinson: even discounting his obvious historical significance, the man was BAD. An aggressive, intimidating baserunner who was a clutch hitter and fielder. He was also a big time bench jockey; you did not want to get on his bad side.

    For one of the bench spots, I nominate Jeffrey Leonard, AKA Penitentiary Face.

  9. rankin' rob // January 27, 2010 at 5:48 pm //

    We once screamed “Hey Penetentiary Face”, and “Yo Penetentiary Face” at Leonard for most of nine innings at Fulco one evening, catching him each time he jogged to the dugout or back out to his position. He pretty much ignored us, but I doubt that any of us in the pack would have had the white suburban courage of our convictions to yell it at him in a nightclub.

    Willie Stargell is remembered as sort of benign and avuncular because of his leadership on the 79 Pirates, but he was a BMF in his day. That unique cocked and rotating bat twirl looked like pure menace. He went yard 475 times, back when that number meant something.

  10. PepeFreeUs // January 27, 2010 at 6:35 pm //

    CBF’s list is good. Frank Robby, Gibson, Drysdale and Mr. Jackie Roosevelt Robinson were all tough bastards who played for keeps. As I’ve pointed out before, they weren’t messing around in the NL in the ’50′s and 60′s.

    I’ll add a guy from a bit later, one Hal McRae, who (like Frank did when he went from Cincinnati to Baltimore in ’66) brought an aggressive NL attitude (also from Cincy) to the Royals.

    Ask Willie Randolph.

  11. rankin' rob // January 27, 2010 at 8:17 pm //

    I’ll take McRae for post-game interviews, also.

  12. Jack Straw // January 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm //

    George Scott. Big guy in a pre-steroid era. Dick
    Allen. He was all about attitude and wouldn’t kiss anybody’s ass, not even the owner’s. Pitchers were scared of him. I might include one of our favorites, Carlton Fisk. A little before my time, there was Dick Radatz of the Red Sox. 6’6″ and threw HARD.
    A J.R. Richard teammate, Don Wilson. Anyone remember him? He threw very hard. Hitters hated facing him. Died young, like Richard.
    Sal Maglie, in an earlier era. He looked like he might kill you AND bury your body. And of course, Cesar Cedeno, who should qualify because he in fact killed someone.
    Maybe Lee May of the Reds and Astros. And Mario Soto, in his prime.

  13. Jack Straw // January 27, 2010 at 8:33 pm //

    I forgot George Foster when he was a Red. 50 home runs, a beard, and that black bat. Completely intimidating. I might add Dwight Gooden when he was very young. I never saw anything like him in my life for about 2 years. Threw hard and would throw inside. There were times big league batters actually looked helpless against him.

  14. Viva Rufino Linares! // January 27, 2010 at 8:48 pm //

    Pete Reiser with the Brooklyn Dodgers. Played ball like it was going to be his last game ever. Believed he crashed into the cement wall at Ebbetts Field. Also, Eddie Mathews didn’t take crap on the field. He had a legendary brawl w/ Frank Robinson.

  15. I’d like to second Ted Kluszewski. Sumbitch would cut the sleeves off his jerseys to show off his guns. A bad, bad man. (I’ll go along with Gibson, Drysdale and both Robinsons, too.)

    I remember Don Wilson. I believe at the time of his death, he, Nolan Ryan and Sandy Koufax were the only pitchers to have thrown at least two no-hitters and had an 18-strikeout, 9-inning game. But he was dreadfully inconsistent, not nearly as intimidating as J.R. Richard before the stroke.

    And yeah, he was a stone-cold racist bastard, but nobody who played the game was ever as intimidating as Ty Cobb.

  16. clete boyer fan // January 27, 2010 at 10:21 pm //

    Great call on Don Wilson. The guy had fantastic stuff. It seemed like every article I read about him as a kid described as grim, mad, or angry while pitching. He’s also the only pitcher I’ve ever heard of who had to be restrained from attacking the team that he’d just no-hit, after he whiffed the Reds.

    The guy who was probably the most intimidating batter when I was a child was Willie McCovey. He seemed like he was 8 feet tall when he was in the batter’s box.

  17. Jack Straw // January 27, 2010 at 10:34 pm //

    McCovey terrified pitchers AND infielders.

  18. PepeFreeUs // January 27, 2010 at 10:50 pm //

    I thought of Maglie after I logged off earlier. I find it utterly hilarious that he ended up with the Ddgers. That must’ve ben a fun day in the clubhouse. “Hey there, I’m Sal Maglie. I hit you in the head three times last year.” He’s widely credited (or blamed if you prefer) for tutoring young Drysdale in the evil arts.

    I will definitely take Carlton Fisk on my BMF team. His anti-steroids rant of a week or so ago was dead on the money. The man was throwing shoulder blocks and quasi-punches at his own fans when they ran on the field after his homer off of Darcy in Game 6.

    One more guy I thought of later, another late 70′s Pirate: Bill Madlock. Very intense.

  19. williemontanez // January 28, 2010 at 4:33 pm //

    Sugar Bear Blanks

  20. PepeFreeUs // January 28, 2010 at 5:46 pm //

    We need to use these last couple of guys to start a Mild MF team. I’d add Luis Gomez.

  21. For a more modern look, how about Andres Galarraga?

  22. Kenny F’in Powers, Jack Parkman, and Pedro Cerrano.

  23. PepeFreeUs // January 28, 2010 at 11:58 pm //

    If El Gato Grande had connected with Darren Dreifort’s noggin that time, DD would have been a lot like Moon Pie in “Rollerball” after Tokyo got ahold of him.

  24. I’m going to add Eddie Mathews to the list – the dude supposedly went out and beat the crap out of two sailors after having a bad day at the plate and losing a game. So much for ‘supporting our troops’ back in the day.

    Also, I have to agree with Bob Gibson’s inclusion on the list, only because I live in fear that he’ll pull up next to me at a random gas station and kick my ass in the parking lot.

    How about Corky Miller could be on the Mild MF team – he has it all, the laughable name, a pudgy, non-threatening physique, and non-existent presence at the plate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers

